BRSCC Championship

I’ll be competing in the 2018  BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship, a great way to get started in motor racing. The race calendar features eight meetings with two or three races at each meeting. Friday is practice day at the circuit, Saturday morning is for qualifying, and on Saturday afternoon and Sunday, the races take place. 

Based on the qualifying times, the field is split into two grids of around 30-36 cars for an A and a B race. The top five drivers in the B race get promoted into the A race for Race 2, and similarly for Race 3. The slowest in the A Race take their places in the B place. 

Points are awarded to competitors as follows:
P1 = 100 points, P2 = 98 points, P3 = 96 points, P4 = 94 points, P5 = 92 points, P6 = 90 points, and then decreasing by 2 points down through the results to the final position.
Additional points are awarded for Fastest Lap (2 points).
The totals from all qualifying rounds of the Championship held less the driver’s three lowest scores decide the final Championship points.

Trophies are presented to the top three finishers in each race and to the top three in the Championship.

You can get a flavour of the Championship races from YouTube – view Rounds 22, 23 & 24 from the 2017 final race meeting at Donington Park. Keep your eye out for Oliver Allwood, a team mate of mine at AB Motorsport.


With tightly controlled regulations and few modifications allowed, the Mazda MX-5 Mk1 aims to be a low-cost entry route into club motorsport. The Mazda MX-5 has always been a very popular choice with competitors looking for affordable and competitive racing. But… motorsport isn’t cheap whichever route you take! Take a look at what it is going to cost for my first season.

Unless you’ve made a stack of cash as a YouTube Vlogger, you married into the Royal Family, or you backed Leicester to win the Premiership (how did that happen?), you’re going to need to find some sponsors. .

2018 Race Schedule

Eight meetings, 24 races!

Venue Date
Brands Hatch   24th – 25th Mar 2018
 Snetterton 300  14th – 15th Apr 2018
 Cadwell Park  2nd – 3rd Jun 2018
 Oulton Park  16th Jun 2018
 Silverstone National  28th – 29th Jul 2018
 Anglesey  11th – 12th Aug 2018
 Rockingham  15th – 16th Sep 2018
 Donington Park  20th – 21st Oct 2018